ReMA is seeking nominations for the National Lieutenant Governors Association’s (NLGA) Recycling Impact Award by June 17, 2024.

The award recognizes a public official who has played a key role in advocating for, or supporting resource conservation, sustainability, reuse, and recycling. Recycling impacts every aspect of life in America, converting end-of-life or otherwise obsolete materials into the items we depend on everyday – from the bridges we drive over to the cars we drive in, and the packaging which brings good into our homes. Recycling has significant impacts on the U.S. economy and jobs, manufacturing, commodities, global trade, the environment, reducing solid waste, sustainable living and development, transportation (rail, trucking, and waterborne shipping), and more.

Members can either create an account with NLGA to nominate a Lieutenant Governor directly or email the nomination information to ReMA’s Government Relations Manager Justin Short at

Who is eligible to submit a nomination for an award? NLGA members, their staff, employees of ReMA, ReMA chapter members, any NLGA Partner, and other state government observers, researchers, and advocates are eligible to make nominations. NLGA staff may NOT nominate an individual.

Who is eligible to receive an award? Only NLGA members are eligible for the award. This is defined as the state official first in line of gubernatorial succession in every state and U.S. territory.

How will the awardee be selected? The selection is recommended by ReMA through an internal process. Nominations are reviewed based on each nominee’s eligibility and the nominee’s contributions as required. The winner will exhibit the benchmark of success described in the award’s criteria. NLGA must agree to the award recipient via its director. The NLGA member recipient must attend the NLGA Meeting in person to accept the award, no acceptance virtually or by proxy.

When will the awardee receive the award? The award will be presented to the awardee by ReMA and the appropriate ReMA Chapter representative at NLGA’s 2024 Annual Meeting in Detroit, MI this upcoming July.

Past NLGA Recycling Impact Award recipients include the following:

2019: Lt. Governor Mike Cooney (MT – D)
2020: No award due to COVID-19
2021: Lt. Governor Billy Nungesser (LA – R)
2022: Lt. Governor Garlin Gilchrist (MI – D)
2023:  Lt. Governor Pamela Evette (SC – R)